Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DB for beginners, UK?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by dlloyd, Jan 20, 2005.

1. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    I've been hankering after a double bass for a while now, maybe two years or so.

I can't afford one. Even a cheap one. I'm thinking I might try and sort that out over the next few months.

Trouble is, although I'm by no means a beginner when it comes to bass guitars, I haven't the first clue when it comes to DBs.

The first question is one of budget... what can I get away with? I've seen basses for sale at around £400 and suspect these will be terrible. I've seen them at around £1000 and suspect these will be better. Any higher than this we might as well forget about for now... it's not going to happen.

£400 is a lot more attractive than £1000 in view of my sorry finances. Particularly since I'm likely to need to shell out extra £s for a decent setup. Would a £400 bass serve me as a beginner, or would I be better off waiting up to a year for a £1000 and sticking to the plank?

(Jazz 1940s and up, unlikely to want to bow too much)

2. Please check the Newbie Links under the Basses heading.
    All your questions should be answered there.
    Good Luck.
    We have many UK TBDBers...i'm sure they'll chime in.

3. oliebrice

oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    London, UK
    theres been quite a bit of talk about this here:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=154319

briefly, in my opinion the 400 quid basses are rubbish, not worth the cost of setting them up, and my favourite bass I've found in the 1 grand region is the Stentor Conservetoire. But theres lots more opinions on the above thread.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

So have I!!