Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DC Bass Amps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Rick Martin, Aug 21, 2000.

1. I asked about this quite a while ago and nobody had much to say, so here I go again. I get to jam with accoustic instruments all the time, but very often this is outdoors with no AC outlet available. The accoustic basses I have tried in shops don't seem loud enough and I like my MIM Jazz just fine, so I need a DC powered amp. I have seen but not heard the Pignose Hog 30 and I have heard people say it's lame. Is it??? All I need to do is be loud enough to play with accoustic guitars. I don't need a lot of volume. I thought about a car battery and an inverter for my Peavy Microbass, but that sounds like a nuisance and the battery and inverter would cost more than the Hog 30. Any other options?
    I'm new to making music and I'm really surprised that there isn't a bigger demand for a DC bass amp. I run into accoustic jams all the time in outdoor places, and there's never a bass and they all need one.

2. Matthias

Matthias

May 30, 2000
    Vienna, Austria
    Sorry, I can't help - but maybe explain (?):

I think it's a problem of phyiscs:
    Bass frequencies need much more power to be heard. This may be a reason why battery driven amps work quite fine for guitars, but seem to be insufficient for bass.

The same with acoustic instruments: the body of an acoustic bass guitar is too small for good bass response. There's a good reason for double basses being such huge babies!

Matthias

3. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA