Dealing with band egos

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by shirojiro, Feb 3, 2002.

1. shirojiro

Jan 24, 2001
    San Francisco
    I've been playing bass in various bands for over 15 yrs now, and I'm currently dealing with the most egotistical jerk I could imagine. Our lead singer/guitar player literally thinks that he is "perfect" and never makes a mistake, and that the drummer and I constantly make errors.

I just can't fathom this kind of thinking. In my day job, I'm a physician. I would label his thinking as delusional.

The funny thing is, outside of gigs, he's really pretty pleasant. He gets all wound up about gigs though, and if it's not the way he wants to hear it in his head, then he has a fit.

This even happens on cover tunes. He thinks he knows the tunes better than everyone, and insists on correcting everyone. Sometimes he's right, often he's not, but my point is - who really cares? I challenge the average joe to distinguish a minor variation in the bass line or drum line in the vast majority of poular music. I really don't think that most people will hear it unless it's something crucial to the tune.

Sigh. It's getting to the point where it's no fun anymore.

2. maybe you and the drummer should talk to him or drop him and move on.
  3. ARA punk

ARA punk

Jul 11, 2001
    USA, Shelby, NC
    In the guitarist defense alot of people dont care whether or not the average listener can tell the difference, if you can hear a difference and like it better another way then that is how it should be done.

Now, people like that out to be solo artist (which i hate) or with a bunch of other people who feel the same way. Have you guys tried correcting him when he messes up? ALot of times that is the only way we can get through to our fiddler is by correcting her the same way she corrects us.

Good luck
  4. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001