Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Dean basses.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DaMaGe, Inc., Dec 22, 2004.

1. Hi there, I've been playing bass for a little over 4 months now. Atm I own and Ibanez SRX300 -and a SW35 bass amp.

As many of you may be familiar with, I'm having an attack of GAS after looking at all the nice basses that are out there. (I don't have enough money to spend it on whatever I have in mind though) Anyway, the Dean Q5 cought my interest. I read alot of positive reviews about it and Dean instruments in general. Seems like decent bass to me for the price(€ 459,-). Do any of you have experience with their basses and/or this bass in particular? Good or bad?

http://www.deanguitars.com/edge_q4_q5.htm

*The Stingray 5 and a Cirrus 5 seem very nice as well, but since I don't have a very high income It'll probably take me forever to save up enough money for one of those. :p *

2. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    I owned one of those, actually it was my first 5 string. The playability and construction were actually quite good. The 35" scale made for a really tight B string as well. The thing that bugged me about the bass was the pesky EMG-HZ pickups. If you like a warm tone, these are not for you (IMO). They bugged me so much that I literally GAVE THE BASS AWAY. If you're not picky about your tone (or an ultra sterile/cold tone is what you want) then this would be a great bass for you. If you want some warmth out of your tone, you'll be better off looking elsewhere. Good luck!

3. raycer

raycer

Mar 22, 2004
    Orange County, NY
    I have a Edge 5 passive with HZs and I love it. I like the tone variations I can get from it, and it's build quality is very good for it's price range.

4. PasdaBeer

PasdaBeer

Nov 2, 2002
    Santa Rosa California
    SandStorm Designs