Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Dean Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rickreyn, Jun 2, 2001.

1. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    I was looking at Dean basses on the web, mainly because of Jeff Berlin's endorsement, and because they are distributed by a company in the Tampa Bay area. I was wondering if I could get a review or two from the membership.

2. twiggy

twiggy Guest

Apr 27, 2001
    nc
    well rick i am new to bass playing but my first bass is a dean and when i am ready to move up my next bass i feel will be a dean. nice feel/well made/ good tone/ and imo they look sharp as he@$.

p.s. if you will search a bunch of dean bass threads are already started(a couple by me) they should answer your questions

3. jbass27

jbass27

May 4, 2001
    St. Louis, MO
    What do you want to know? For the money they seem to be some of the best basses out there. In most cases, they are probably head and shoulders above most of the Ibanez, Yamaha, and Epiphone stuff in that price range. They also have a 5 year warranty! My favorites are the Edge 4 and 5, just the basic versions, the maple top is not really worth it. Either the newer ones with the Dean pickups and active electronics or the passive ones with EMG-HZ's are pretty good. They feel and look good, and most people don't believe the price when I tell them (yes, I work at a music store and sell basses, and no I don't work in a chain.) The 5 and 6 strings are 35" scale, which is very good. The Rhapsody basses are very cool, especially the 8 and 12 strings. The shape of those basses rocks, its almost Carl Thompson-ish.

4. korngod_04

korngod_04

Feb 11, 2001
    yes, they are good basses. i own one. I would get another