Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DeArmond Guild 4 String...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Andrew_S., Jun 11, 2002.

1. Andrew_S.

Andrew_S.

Jul 24, 2001
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Hi all,
    actually, this is my first time posting in the BG forums. I currently own a 4 string DeArmond Guild electric bass. However, I'm having a hell of a time finding out any information on them. The dealer said that DeArmond has discontinued the series. Has anyone heard this?

Anyone else ever played on one of these hollow bodies? I really dig the sound I'm getting.

2. Yeah the Dearmond name is officially dead, but Fender still sell the instruments (guitars at least, not sure about the basses) under the Squier brand.

A friend of mine has one of the last Pilot basses Dearmond made, and I've played a Jet Star bass but I've never played one of the semi-hollow ones.

They look pretty nice though, there's been one in a shop round here for about 2 years now and I nearly bought the thing last June.

The Dearmond I really want is an Ashbory. They're just so damn groovy!

3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I have one of the Starfire Basses, which is what I suspect you have.

I'm rather fond of it!

4. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    That explains a lot then. I saw the Squier in musicians friend. I thought "Wow, those really look like Guild's."

My dad has a DeArmond Starfire guitar. Major pain the butt to change strings, but a killer guitar.

What's up with Fender sacking all of their products? First it was Sunn, now DeArmond.

5. Andrew_S.

Andrew_S.

Jul 24, 2001
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Glad to see some responses here everyone... Thanks!