1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Debating whether to go Pre Amp/Power Amp...Need help...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tony G, Mar 31, 2006.

1. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    In my experience as a bassist, I have only used heads. I have owned some great GK heads, and know own an SWR Working Pro 700. I've been reading a lot of threads here, and in my search for pure, unadulterated, clean tone, it seams that a pre amp/power amp combination might be what I seek.

Now, I really like the sound I get from my WP700, but I'm afraid of its reliability. Occasionly, while rehearsing at my drummers house, it will pop like the power has been flicked off, and then on again immediatly. I don't know what is causing it. Also, the other day, I left it on for a little while, and when I came back, the LED's displayed that both the power and pre amp were clipping, even though I had it muted. When I removed the mute, I could get no sound. Turned the amp off and then on, and it still didn't fix it. I smacked it on top, and low and behold, that worked. It was like a solenoid or something that protects the amp from clipping was stuck.

Anyways, I have gotten off topic. I went to my local music store and tested a BBE Bmax through a Crown XLS 402. It was the brightest, cleanest signal I have yet experienced. Is this the way I should go? Is a pre/power setup better than a head?

Please help me decide.

2. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine