"decent" cheap-ish wireless for bass?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by nil, Aug 20, 2001.

1. Dunno if this is the right forum, but here goes...

Any advice/opinions on a cheap-ish wireless unit that handles the low-end well?

I've never used one before, but have heard stories of sound degradation etc...i'm just after something to stop me tripping over my cables!

I'm after cheap 'cause most Shure/Nady/Samson units here go for around $1400...
  2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Shure UT, or GC's Shure Access (it's the same thing). UHF, dual diversity, goes down to 20 hz, pretty bitchen for $300 to $350.
  3. I just tried out the Audio Technica 1127 today. It was real clean sounding and I couldnt tell to much of a sound degradation with it. It sells for around 275 I am planning on getting one for my birthday:D
  4. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Nady Encore II GT.
    Less than $200
    Very good Performance.
  5. Audition it first. :D

The FCC has a 50 Hz lower limit imposed on all wireless devices. I played a Shure Guitarist with my RB5 and the wireless cut the nuts off the low end. Bad.

The 50 Hz lower limit does not affect guitar players, only bassists.
  6. Auditioning isn't really an option since the selection here is pretty low. And I can't see a store here lending me a $1400 wireless for a gig/practise...not that i'd ever consider spending that much.

I've found I can't even get musiciansfriend.com to ship overseas (manufacturer limitations, etc) - which has started me thinking about your FCC ~vs~ our FCC and the frequencies, etc allowed over here.

Looks like some of the new Nady units (332, encore 2) handle down to 40Hz or so, but whether they'd work here, I dunno now.