Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Decided on a 6-string Fretless (and some thank-you's)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bryan R. Tyler, Apr 29, 2003.

1. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I've been gassing for a six or seven-string fretless for several months now, and I've been scouring the new and used market for them. It seems that just about every quality option, whether built by a company or custom-built by a luthier, fell in at about the same price range ($2500-$3000 including options), which left a lot of options open.

After really going over all of my choices repeatedly, I decided to work with a local luthier named Jon Hill, who makes some very nice basses. I talked with him on several occasions, and played one of his four-strings (the nicest four-string I've ever played), and everything seemed to point to him. I'll be dropping off my deposit once I get back from Boston in two weeks, and hopefully the bass will be completed in 4-5 months.

Early specs on the bass are:
    HN6 Signature model 6-string lined fretless
    34" scale
    Mahogany body
    Neck-through made of padauk, purpleheart, and wenge
    Ebony fingerboard with clear polyester coating
    Some form of burl top (haven't decided)
    Bartolini pickups and preamp

I wanted to say some thank you's to TB's own Gard, Peter Parker, and John Turner, who kindly provided me with lots of information, and a big thank you to luthier Darrin Huff, who did me a HUGE favor, and who also happens to be a great guy who definitely knows his basses. I'll post pics of the bass once it's in production.

Here's a pic of one of his basses:
    [​IMG]
    and a link to his site http://www.hillinstruments.com

2. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member