Defretting an Acoustic?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Harmonik, Feb 13, 2020.

1. Harmonik

Harmonik

Feb 13, 2020
    Hello all,

I’m an intermediate player, and I’ve started taking an interest in playing fretless. I don’t really have the money to dump on a decent fretless bass, but I do have an old fretted Dean EAB acoustic/electric that I’ve rarely used since I got my MusicMan, and I’ve been looking into defretting it this weekend. It’s practically a wall decoration at this point so it’d be nice to get new life out of it.

I’m totally new to fretless so I was firstly wondering if it’s even worth defretting an acoustic. If anybody has experience with one, can a fretless acoustic still get that “mwah” unplugged? Thanks, I’d appreciate any feedback before I commit to taking up my Saturday.

TL;DR: Advice for defretting an acoustic? Good idea/bad idea?

(after writing this I realize I’m probably not the first to ask this on here, so my apologies if this is just clutter. :unsure:)

2. dmt

dmt

Apr 19, 2003
    Orbiting Sol
    Can a fretless acoustic still get the "mwah" unplugged? - Oh yes, absolutely.

General advice: Go fo it if you want (after reading up on how to do it first, of course). Like you said, the bass is basically just a wall hanger at this point, so what’s to lose (besides the resale value - but it wasn’t very expensive new to begin with, so there’s not a ton of value to lose).

Besides that, I’ll say that I rarely use my fretless acoustic. For one, it’s a bit of a big beast (an Epi El Capitan) that I hesitate somewhat to pull out. For two, it’s a bit specialized - doesn’t naturally fit with a lot of what I usually play. And then if I don’t play it, I fall out of fretless practice, which makes it both a bit less rewarding when I do pull it out and more of a project (‘cuz then I have to work on getting my fretless skills back up).