Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by davefrommound, Jan 27, 2006.

1. davefrommound

Jul 21, 2005
    I play in a 3 piece rock band and as the bass player AND singer I typically end up playing a rhythm bass line (follow the guitar line to fill space so the guitar player can wank on a solo).

anyway, when we practice it's through a mixer and headphone amp, so the mix is always good and my bass notes sustain nicely. but on stage, it sounds like there's no sustain to any of the notes the second my pick or finger leaves the string.

so i recognize that i need some effect to make it sound beefier and ring out... my question is, should i go with a delay or chorus pedal? or is there another option that will beef it up?

thanks. and btw, i find this forum to be a wealth of knowledge. i'm not a bass player by trade, so i really appreciate the courtesy among fellow bassists, even for dumb questions (like this one!).
  2. What is your setup exactly?

Because you could spend a lot of money on effects but it won't make a bad bass sound good.
  3. davefrommound

Jul 21, 2005
    samick royale bass --> tech 21 sansamp pedal --> hartke ha4000 head --> fender bassman 1970s cab w/ 2 Eminence Delta 15A speakers.
  4. How old are your strings? Have you tried different settings on your sansamp and on your hartke?
  5. Sometimes, your sound depends on the room your are into. You should try to change your EQ settings first. Some rooms respond better to different frequencies
  6. davefrommound

Jul 21, 2005
    i've played mostly blue steels but recently switched to the heavier DRs. i've been changing the strings as-neede, depending on whether or not we're gigging, recording, etc., and always the week before a show.