Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Demeter VHTF 300M vs. Aguilar DB728

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gabbass, Oct 23, 2004.

1. Gabbass

Gabbass

Aug 15, 2004
    Italy
    Anybody tried them in comparison?
    What are the main differences in tone?
    I have a Demeter VTBP 201 S preamp and a QSC PLX 1602 with my Fbass BN5 and BNF5 but I'm searching for more warmth and depth in my sound, keeping an hi fi tone...I like to hear the real tone of my basses...

...Let me know...

2. Unfortunately I have no experience with the Demeter, but I love my DB728. It has lots of the warmth and depth you're asking for. I wouldn't describe it as "hifi" sounding however. It's character is closest to a vintage SVT. Have you tried different tubes in your preamp?

3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    its almost impossible to try both at once. Ive tried them both seperately and both sounded fantastic. I would lean toward the aggie for the extra watts, the ability to drive a 2 ohm load, and reports of their customer service being better than demeter's at the moment.

4. Gabbass

Gabbass

Aug 15, 2004
    Italy
    yes, maybe aguilar is more warm, but demeter more hi-fi ?
    do you think so ?
    my cabs are @ 4 ohm together, so no problem for not 2 ohm of demeter...
    I'd like to try them, but here in Italy isn't possible...there are no demeter dealer and about aguilar I should must go to Milan at Basszone ( aguilar dealer) : 4 hours by car from my home!!
    Really not good...
    What about the cost? Aguilar is more expensive, I think...

5. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    That you should find out for yourself - the prices in the US and in Europe differ. Sometimes, not just a little... :(