Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Derek and the Dominos Tabs?

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by moptoptony, May 16, 2003.

1. I've done some pretty extensive searching, and I've only found two songs by the band: Bell Bottom Blues and Layla. Has anyone seen any other songs by this group that I might have passed over?

2. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    You know that it's Eric Clapton don't you?

3. Well, yeah, but I've also searched under Eric Clapton tabs, without any other result. :(

4. Rrrrgh, no luck with bass tabs...lots of guitar tabs and chords, but no new bass tabs that I haven't seen. The problem is that I want to learn their more obscure songs, and I'm not experienced enough to really pick out the bass line that well. So I look online, sure. But nobody cares about the other songs to make a tab for them. I'm having the same problem with a lot of other REALLY good songs, even those that aren't obscure. Like You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' by The Righteous Brothers. Great song. A lot of people have heard it. But there are no bass tabs for it! GAH! Give me wisdom!

5. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
  6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well, a song is a song and the bassline doesn't make it that. Songwriters don't often write bass lines - they expect a decent bass player to do this (write their own bass line) based on the chords and this is what most bands will expect you to do.

So, the quicker you learn to do this, the better. No reliance on Tabs and more chance of getting gigs and to play with other people.

7. *throws in towel*

8. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member