Describe Your Playing

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Dr. Cheese, Oct 6, 2005.

1. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    If you could only use a remark to describe your playing, what would it be? I think a good description of mine could be summed up in a joke: 1985 called, it want's it's licks back!

I say that because listening to all the super fast double slappers and chord soloists on this forum, my technique is clearly from a simpler time.
  2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Erykah Badu called and said she wants me to play in her live band. I would say that sums up my playing style.
  3. baritones

Oct 5, 2005
    Im a pretty experimental musician. "Roccojacojamersonpercyjonesesque"! Or "Next inline for the Trey Gunn chair". Im a busy player when I can get away with it but that's from playing in trios and having to cover alot of ground. With my current progressive jazz group, I play alot of chords and harmonics if there's a place for it or im playing more freestyle musics. Plus, I use alot of strange tunings and effects to get harmonic chords and ambient textures on quieter tunes. My drummer calls me the "Andy Summers of the bass" haha. Some guitarists Ive played with hate me. haha! But I only try to enhance the music, not show off. Im not big on bass solos. I don't think they're necessary but if it means the guitarist can change his broken strings, Im always game for my spotlight dance haha.

But on more commercial or traditional material, Im pretty much in the pocket or on the one, bubbling along with the drummer like Rocco Prestia or Victor Wooten.
  4. de la mocha

de la mocha

Aug 20, 2005
    I'm a ska kinda guy. Think of me as sublime meets james brown....
  5. phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    I like dead notes and blue notes and try to use them whenever I feel they make sense musically.