Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Desire to play Classical Thump!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by EEbass04, Sep 5, 2002.

1. EEbass04

EEbass04

Dec 28, 2001
    Lee's Summit:MO
    Despite my last post of not wanting to play like Victor Wooten, I have once again changed my mind. I have been playing bass for 1 year and 6 months. I find the extreme desire to play Classical Thump. Is it at all possible for me to even have learned to play this completely by next Decmeber? Well I know this post isn't complete. But I want some responses and questions from you and I will check this daily and answer the questions to give you a deeper look at me as a player.

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    By next December? Why not? It's possible, but it depends on a number of things.

Like how much you have busted your balls to play bass up to this point, and how much work you are going to put into it in the future. Classical Thump is no walk in the park, and there are techniques in there beyond conventional slapping.

It is, however, good to give yourself a goal, and not settling for learning "I Stand Alone" by Godsmack or some other piece of dung. Kudos to you and good luck.

BTW: Lots of people SAY they can play Classical Thump. Do a search on the forums and you'll see posts like "Hey i have been plying for 4 munths an i cn pla Clasical thump bt I want 2 know wut is a minur scale????" If you learn it, we want sound clips! ;)

3. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    I learned it, but I can't play it too well. That speed double thumbing is no joke! You can do it, but it will take some work. I'm not going to sugarcoat it, it ain't easy! I'm rooting for you man! Remember this: do not underestimate the importance of your left hand!

4. neptoon

neptoon