1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

desperately need some advice...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by slap_man, Mar 18, 2008.

1. slap_man

slap_man

Mar 18, 2008
    I have this really big problem in my strings dying on me too quick. I have tried ernie ball regular slinkies, ddrios xl, hartke, dr highbeams, and rotosound.

So far, for every one of these brands, the strings die within 3 days. I've been playing bass for about five years, and while i noticed, it never really bothered me at first. But this is getting rediculous. Strings are just too expensive to keep buy every 3 days and then they die. One time i had a brand new set of dr highbeams last me a day and a half. I know its not the fault of the strings, since this has happened throughout my five years worth of playing, set after set, brand after brand. By the way, i play a fender usa precision bass (great bass by the way) and i play metal and slap bass. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Try coated strings, like Elixirs, D'Addario EXL's, or DR Extra Life.

Or, if you're so bold, Optima. :bag:

3. I'm with you. One or two gigs is all I get out of new strings. Considering I play 2-4 gig's a week, I had to figure something out. For the past several months I've been soaking the strings in denatured alcohol and that has saved me a bundle. I just use a large Tupperware container that I immerse the wound strings in. I normally keep two or three sets of Highbeams and am constantly switching between gigs. I really does work.

4. Human Bass

Human Bass

Aug 26, 2005
    3 days? :eyebrow:

5. Acid hands of death, maybe.

6. slap_man

slap_man

Mar 18, 2008