Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Detune guts when not playing?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by buffalobillh, Aug 28, 2005.

1. buffalobillh

buffalobillh

Jul 20, 2005
    Texas
    Endorsing Artist: Samuel Shen Basses, NS Design, D'Addario Strings
    Is it important to relieve tension on gut strings when not playing - inbetween practice sessions or gigs? Just got my bass back with guts. Very nice. Want to prolong the life of the strings as much as possible.

Thanks,

Bill

2. CB3000

CB3000 Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2003
    Madison, wi
    i'm no expert but i have been using guts for 6 years now and you don't have to worry about them. i would leave them at regular tension and eventually they will get broken in. mine are really doing great now-i have played a bunch of outdoor fests this summer and they have held up really well. it seems there is a lot of voodoo surrounding gut strings. to me, they are very tough strings and don't need to be babied. i thought i read somewhere they found an egyptian instrument with catgut strings in a tomb and the strings still worked! after 2000 years! i clean mine off with lemon oil about once or twice a year. when i play outside in the heat i crack my bag open and let the bass warm up and i tune the strings up a half step or so. before we go on i tune up- that has worked well for me lately. BTW my E string is about 40 or 50 years old-wrapped gut wondertone. my A is at least 6 years probably more like 10. what kind did you get?

3. buffalobillh

buffalobillh

Jul 20, 2005
    Texas
    Hey CB,

I read that same article about the 2000 year old strings. Changes any preconceived notions one may have.