1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Developing music/bass in isolation (Long)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Vynns, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Vynns

Vynns Guest

May 5, 2008
    Evening all,

A few days ago, our guitarist told me he liked my playing, because you can hear it's self-taught. Now, he didn't mean to say my playing sucks and I need to get me a teacher, but more to say my playing style is uniquely me own and not copied, borrowed, taught or stolen by/from a teacher or other bassists.

I thanked him for the compliment (which it was) and, even though I didn't agree with him (I think I can hear the influences in my playing very clearly), I left it at that. Mostly because we were both blind drunk/stoned immaculate at the time.

Anyhoo, when I woke up the next day (somewhere around two-ish, hehe), I got to think about his comment. He liked my sound and technique, because he percieved it as being developed in isolation, and therefore unique.

But what if you'd expand on this concept?

All of us have musical influences. We are born into a certain culture which has evolved, grown and changed over many, many years. Music has evolved, grown and changed together with the culture you live in and is (in my eyes at least) inseperable. And now here you are: born some years ago and listening to the music of the culture you've grown up in all your life. This affects your tastes, and thusly ('s that a word?), the way you practice music. It has a profound effect on the type of music you (want to) make, the music you like, and even your goals with that music (though, let's not go into that last one here).

Now, think about this: