Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

developing my slap technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lewibassist, Sep 19, 2004.

1. Hiya i have been playing bass for about 5 years now and i can slap pretty well. And i can make slap riffs up pretty easily. The question i have is how do you get a real deep groove when you slap. I cant get the type of groove i have with fingers. Is it just practice or is there any specific exercises that would develop my slap technique further.

Lewis

2. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    You can't hold no groove if you ain't got no pocket :D

3. jtauban

jtauban

Oct 28, 2003
    .....a real deep groove . I cant get the type of groove i have with fingers.

Lewis[/QUOTE]

what do you mean? Is it a question of sound, swing, number of notes, a feeling of tightness or looseness?
    For me, the thing that makes a good bass line is silence (rest, breathing) and dynamics; and I find that many bass players tend to overplay when they start to slap. If you think you have a good groove with your fingers, try to incorporate within your lines some slapped notes (as accents), and switch from slap to fingers along with a good drummer or clicktrack.
    good luck

4. No way! Hey Lewis, I'm Mark - I just noticed your location - I live in Llandrindod Wells, in Powys. Whereabouts are you? Could have some kinda "Powys TBers Meet Up" or something...

Anyway, I've found that it's best to remember too many notes spoil the broth.

That quotes not exactly write, but y'know...

The tendency with slap is to play fast and cram muted and played notes in there, but often the best ones are when there are few notes actually played. Just look at "Me and My Bass Guitar". It's a simple progression, it's just the muted notes dominate. But yeah, try and think more melodically instead of just going for speed or anything?