1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

DI Box For Recording - A MUST?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Hekbass, May 25, 2011.

1. Hekbass

Hekbass

May 21, 2005
    Zephyrhills, FL
    A few days ago, I had the first studio session to record my original songs. It's a home studio run by a father and son "team."

I'm extremely unfamiliar with recording technology. I've read articles on Bass Player magazine and others, though, so I have some general bits of knowledge on the matter.

The guy tried running a regular instrument cable from the "line out" of the amp into the board. My bass (Traben Havoc) has a preamp with 2 9-volt batteries, so it was clipping the input level at the board.
    I suggested to use the XLR output instead. That worked.
    The recorded sound was pretty damn good to my ears.

THE QUESTION: Should I get a DI box? How much of a difference will that $150-200+ expense ACTUALLY have on my sound?
    I'm not an audiophile. If it's something that only pro studio engineers, and musicians with "dog ears" or "audiophile ears" will notice, then I don't care.

Your input will be truly appreciated.

2. If you have an XLR out from your amp, it has a DI in it.

3. And to expand...

Some amps have great DIs. My SWR Bass 350 has a DI that rivals my Avalon U5 ($500 DI). Some are not so great. If you think it sounds good, cool.

Real studios will have at least a couple of DIs. I have a project studio, and I have three.

4. I would say yes, I do a fair amount of studio work and always take a DI as part of my kit. Most studios will have several, often nicer than you can afford.
    As agreatheight stated some amps have great DI's but that is not always the case. There are a lot of expensive DI's out there but a good passive DI or even an ART Tube MP are very affordable and do a good job.

5. markjazzbassist

markjazzbassist Supporting Member