1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Diary of a Tube Noob: making the transition to tubes.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TwentyHz, Feb 5, 2019.

1. In a few hours, I will (I hope) arrive home to my first tube head.

I'm going to try to do something that I haven't really found in other TB threads, or haven't been able to easily tease out: I'm going to try to document my learning experience making the transition to tubes.

I've read a fair amount of the SS:Tube stickies here and skimmed or followed a lot of the threads. I can follow along with some physics talk, but I really don't know anything. I'm a mediocre musician at best.

If the UPS stars align, my journey will start tonight with a used 2010s-era Zinky Supro Mofo Bass amp. I'll be down in the basement if ya' need me.

Novarocker, iondico, okcrum and 9 others like this.
  2. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    Subbed! A worthy undertaking!

TwentyHz likes this.
  3. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    I predict the Mofo will be different than all the solid state amps you have played previously...it will also be different than any all-tube heads you will play in the future.

I don't get too hung up on this whole tube versus solid-state tribal BS thing. I have a range of solid state, hybrid, and all tube amps that are all awesome for different reasons. Some of the hybrid and solid state amps have tubey qualities, and some of the tube amps are fairly solid-state sounding. IMHO, Learn the way different amps sound and respond to your playing. Then you can choose the right amp for the occasion.