Did/Do you learn scales?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Osama_Spears, May 26, 2003.

1. No

5 vote(s)
  2. Yes

51 vote(s)
  3. ...I only learned my carrots

5 vote(s)
  1. Did you?

Has it helped your bass playing?

Once you have a sense of time and rythim, scales are EVERYTHING else.
  3. LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.
    I fought it for a long time and refused to do it when I was self taught. Once I started lessons however, it became mandatory. At first it seemed useless. Major scales, minor scales, modes of the major scale, harmonizing the major scale blah blah blah... Then one day it just started seeming to come together. In just about every song I hear/play now I can quickly pick out the key/scale it's based on and use that scale and variations of it to come up with more than plain old boring root banging. Long story short...it will seem like it takes awhile for it to pay off, but it does. Once you locate the "I" of the song, your hands can take it from there.
  4. see,

I wanna learn 'em...

but,it is so confusing to me

all I know is that there are 8 notes in a scale.

thats it
  5. There are so many scales and variants, and depending on the style and type of music one plays the learning can be almost continuous.

Lucas Pickford has a great site to get some insight into scales and where to use them. Hundreds to learn....Pick's Place Articles

Or better - GET A TEACHER!
  6. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    In answer to the questions, yes and yes.

lol, actually you got that wrong. Major & minor scales have 7 notes (the 8th is the same as the 1st). Whereas other scales have varying numbers of notes - the chromatic scale has 12, whole tone has 6, pentatonic has 5, blues scale has 6, diminished scale has 8.

Jazzbo's introduction to scale & chord theory would be a good start.
  7. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
  8. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO