1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Did Gene Simmons influence your decision to play bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by etechstan, Mar 12, 2010.

1. Yes, Gene had some influence.

63 vote(s)
    26.3%
  2. No, (add your own comments)

177 vote(s)
    73.8%
  1. I want to end the Kiss/Gene Simmons slagging. Just a yes or no answer to whether or not Gene had any influence to you picking up the bass or anything to do with your bass playing. Yes, I started playing bass in 1975 because Kiss was the hottest thing out there and Gene Simmons was (to a 15 year old) cool.

2. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville
    Not in one misicule iota.

3. Gasman

Gasman Gold Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2007
    South Carolina
    No. But I do like KISS, at least pre-make up removal.

4. No...but I guess it doesn't really count, as Kiss was hot before my time.

On second thought, I was influenced by aston barret and james jamerson so I guess it does count after all

stevie p likes this.
  5. TL5

TL5

Jun 27, 2005
    Nashville
    I was 13 when Destroyer came out.
    Kiss was the reason I wanted to be in a band and Gene was why I chose bass.

6. gkbass13

gkbass13 Supporting Member

Mar 29, 2006
    New York
    not at all, but i do like women...and so does gene, hmmm...maybe in some odd subconscious way that im unaware of...

devntran likes this.
  7. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    Not at all. I was already playing guitar well before KISS made an appearance, and they had no impact on me at all. All I knew about the band when they first came out was the look, nothing was ever said about music.