Did I pay too much for this 1998 MIA Fender P?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spooner2112, Oct 24, 2005.

1. spooner2112

May 24, 2004
    Arlington, Va
    I just scored this MIA 1998 Fender P off Ebay for $700. I received a "second chance" when the high bidder apparently didn't pay for it; I realize the bidding might have been inflated by a shill.

I've been looking for a good MIA sunburst P, and I really like the flame finish. I doubt the bass is worth "over $1300" because it is a "Limited Edition" as one person claims in the Q&A section of the listing. What do you all think? Was I taken?

1998 Fender P bass listing
  2. RobertUI

RobertUI Thumper Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Herndon, VA - NoVa
    I'm not an expert, but I've been watching a lot of P's lately myself and this seems like you got a good deal. Maybe not a GREAT deal, but definitely good. With that flame and the (apparently) flawless finish, maybe it is a GREAT deal. Looks like a nice bass for a nice price though. If you're happy with it (playing it) then I wouldn't second guess it!
  3. AGCurry

Jun 29, 2005
    Kansas City
    It's a good deal but not a great deal. Enjoy it and don't worry about the deal.
  4. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    I'm not what you'd call well-versed in P-bass lore...heh...but that seems like a pretty good deal to me.
  5. gwreid

Apr 8, 2005
    I hope you checked very carefully before taking up that second chance offer? Don't send any money until you can confirm that the offer is for real... I doubt that it is because the auction only finished yesterday so there was hardly any time for the buyer/seller to decide the deal was off. I have "lost" auctions and quite often will get a second chance offer which is clearly bogus. The first one I got was the day the auction finished and I was only the fourth highest bidder!!!