Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Did Jaco have some type of disease?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mind Eroded, Aug 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mind Eroded

Mind Eroded Supporting Member

Apr 25, 2003
    Brooklyn/Buffalo, NY
    I was watching his video "Modern Electric Bass" he kept doing weird twiching in between his licks and shaking..alot of it seemed involuntary, and somewhat strange. Now before i get shredded up on this thread for saying something bad about Jaco..i personally think hes awsome, theres no question about it...though im no expert on him or weather report, i just wanna know if anyone else noticed that too...

2. if you do some research you'll find he had some serious drugs problem at this time.

3. dragonbass

dragonbass Commercial User

Feb 17, 2003
    N.Y.
    Owner/Builder of LoPrinzi Basses.........................................EX-Sadowsky Guitars Builder
    It's what you call Alcoholism.

It's what happens when you drink to much and waste a perfectly good talent.

4. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    iirc he also was addicted to some drugs, like coke.

i've also heard that he was diagnosed with a mental disorder.

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Jaco was Bi-polar manic depressive.

which is a mental condition,worsened by alcohol, when you have rapid mood swings ranging from being totally passive one minute t o maddeningly depressed the next, I have known people with it, it is quite a hard thing to live with.

Mary pastorius(his first born child) writes about this disease over at the jacopastorius.com
    webpage(or maybe it is ingrid's jaco page..I forget)

He was also Obsessive complusive from what I've heard, but I can't confirm that.