Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

did you know you suck?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Frugle, Sep 11, 2005.

1. Frugle

Frugle

Sep 4, 2005
    Atlanta GA
    So I'm a freelance videographer, so I shoot a lot of concerts... someone of them good, some bad..

but I just had one really odd experience a couple weeks ago.. I'm not going to go into to much detail for fear the person/people might be apart of these forums.

well I was shooting a concert a couple weeks ago.. and like most, they had an opening band.

well.....it sucked. The guitar player had a very nice guitar... but that was it.. he was running direct into a beringeer (sp?) and useing the amps distortion.

well... that made it weird, the tone sucked.. and it was the exact same tone through the whole set... slow and fast songs....

same thing with the bass, they did not change anything.. he plucked in the same spot the entire time, and didn't change which pickup etc. he also was inconsistant as to how hard he plucked.

and to make everything worse, they didn't have monitors, so they were playing off what the heard... basically what bounced off the walls in the back of the room... so they were all off time.

but the didn't seem to notice....they acted like they thought they were doing great...

so my question is... do you know when you suck? or would it be a surprise to them?

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    You didn't mention the size of the venue.

Being an opening band can be a rough deal: You might not be able to do a soundcheck and the equipment might be set up for the headliner with the express warning that nothing should be changed. Throw in a lack of monitors into the mix in an acoustically unknown room and you got your recipe for disaster right there.