Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Did you start out on something besides bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by paintandsk8, May 23, 2003.

1. Bass was my first instrument

13 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. I started on another stringed instrument

22 vote(s)
    33.8%
  3. I started on another non-stringed instrument

30 vote(s)
    46.2%
  1. paintandsk8

paintandsk8 Pushin' my soul through the wire...

May 12, 2003
    West Lafayette, IN
    When reading posts and talking to other bassists face to face i have come to realize that many bassists started on other instruments. I want to find out what the percentage really is.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Drums, I've been playing drums for like 7 years, bass for 5.

I played trumpet, then sax(alto and bari) then some piano, then trombone, then bass.

3. I was the leader of the most annoying trumpet section in Alaska. I miss them so very much. :D

-Dave

4. incognito89x

incognito89x ♪♫♪ ♪ ♪ ♫&#983

Sep 22, 2002
    Royal Oak, Michigan
    Violin (mandatory school thing)

1st chosen instrument was Viola. (Actually it was drums, but they didn't let me :mad: )

Switched to double bass in 8th grade.

Got an electric in 10th

5. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Here is my chronological progression of musical inmstruments:
    Code:
    Flute---->Tuba---->Bass Guitar---->Upright Bass
                           |
                           |
                            ---->Guitar

My main instrument is the tuba. I never play the flute anymore. Bass Guitar is my second instrument, and upright bass is after that. Guitar is just for messing around.

6. istaticl

istaticl

Nov 29, 2000
    Prescott, AZ
    Bass was first for me.