Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

difference between a spector and a fender?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pixi_melissa, Feb 11, 2001.

1. pixi_melissa

pixi_melissa

Feb 11, 2001
    Hello,
    I recently started playing bass this summer,I worked really hard to get one, and my first choice was an NS200 spector(950$ canandian)..
    I can play pretty good, and as soon as I can afford it, I will get lessons. But I really want a Fender, because I've heard so much about them..And most of the female bassist use them too.
    So is it better to have a 1000$(canadian) spector or a 400$ (american)fender? The thing is that I have a relative in U.S that can get me one at mars music.
    The fender I really want is a :
    Part Number: 013-6000
    Body: Poplar
    Neck: One-Piece Maple (7.25" radius)
    Machine Heads: Standard
    Fretboard: Rosewood
    No. of Frets: 20
    Pickups: Split-Coil Hum Canceling
    Controls: Volume, Tone
    Bridge: Standard P-Bass
    Scale Length: 34" (864 mm)
    Neck Width @ Nut: 1.625" (41 mm)
    Strings: Fender Super Bass 7205

And it's selling for 325$ american.
    I'm not sure if the sound on a fender is better etc..please help!

2. I'll tell you right now, in my opinion, Spector is one of the best out there and i pretty much hate fender, but that's me. If you're strapped for cash, i guess go with the Fender. If you're willing to put out the money, definatly go with spector. That and 20 frets? And i thought having 22 frets was bad. I won't play anything that doesn't have 24. But like i said, that's my opinion and if you don't have the money, then i guess go with the Fender.