Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

difference between amps...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by wildchild13, Jan 26, 2005.

1. wildchild13

wildchild13

Jan 23, 2005
    hey everyone, i'm new to the world of <a style='text-decoration: none; border-bottom: 3px double;' href="http://www.serverlogic3.com/lm/rtl3.asp?si=24&k=bass%20guitar" onmouseover="window.status='bass guitar'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">bass guitar</a> and have a couple questions. i currently own a regualr solid <a style='text-decoration: none; border-bottom: 3px double;' href="http://www.serverlogic3.com/lm/rtl3.asp?si=24&k=electric%20guitar" onmouseover="window.status='electric guitar'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">electric guitar</a> and a 10 watt amp (crummy, i know) i recently purchased a bass <a style='text-decoration: none; border-bottom: 3px double;' href="http://www.serverlogic3.com/lm/rtl3.asp?si=24&k=guitar" onmouseover="window.status='guitar'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">guitar</a> and plan on investing in a new amp, so i'm asking if there is any difference between the amp i use for my electric guitar and a "bass" amp? or can you just buy one amp and use it for both types of guitar? thanx :bassist:

2. rayzak

rayzak

Jan 13, 2001
    Louisville, KY
    Playing guitar through a bass amp is fine, but playing a bass through a guitar amp at any volume over say... your normal speaking volume is a big no, no. The speakers in guitar amps just can handle the lows a bass puts out. If you're on a tight budget, i'll suggest the Peavey Minx. A nice little 'cheap' amp. I'm sure you'll get many more knowledgeable answers than mine here.

3. Th9nker

Th9nker

Mar 18, 2002
    Hi! Yes there is a HUGE difference.... I won't even get into it...