1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Difference between ohms?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by smurff77, Jun 30, 2007.

1. smurff77

smurff77

Apr 5, 2007
    As a newbie I am not sure whether I should buy a 4ohm or 8ohm cab. What is the difference regarding an extension cab...?
    And can you explain RMS.
    Thanks.

2. TrooperFarva

TrooperFarva

Nov 25, 2004
    New City, NY
  3. smurff77

smurff77

Apr 5, 2007
    Hey, go easy on me...I'm new, female and blonde!
    Read the faq but still not sure so I will ask:
    If I buy a 350w 4x10 combo or separates totalling the same, is it an 8ohm or 4ohm speaker cab I add without losing volume?
    Or, have it got it terribly wrong?

4. lazyone2

lazyone2

Jul 27, 2006
    new jersey shore
    Hello Smurff,
    What is the OHM rating of the amp you are buying. That will be the deciding factor in the cabs you buy. Two 8 ohm babs will equal 4ohms at the amp. Two 4 ohm cabs will equal 2 ohms. What equipment are you looking to buy?

5. rockwarnick

rockwarnick

Jul 29, 2006
    Rockville, MD

6. RWP

RWP

Jul 1, 2006
    Welcome to Talk Bass! If you have 2, 8 ohm cabs in parallel your amp will see a 4 ohm load. Most amps can handle a 4 ohm load easily and actually provide more power than running at 8 ohms. So, if you currently have a 8 ohm cab connected to your amp adding another 8 ohm cab will work fine. If you add a 4 ohm cab the amp will see a load under 4 ohms and may not be happy with that.

RMS is a way to rate power amplifiers. A 200 watt RMS amplifier can also be rated as a 400 watt 'peak power' amplifier. Any quality amp will be rated in RMS watts.

7. smurff77

smurff77

Apr 5, 2007
    Re: profile....my brother set this up for me, so sorry for any confusion. I will change it once he tells me the damn password!