Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Difference between PA amp and bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jadviga, Mar 1, 2005.

1. Hi,

I'm new to the bass amp world and I would like to ask if there are any design differences between PA amps (I know they are usually stereo but they can be bridged) and bass amps. I'm taking about power amplification of the signal which is coming from standalone preamp.

I'm asking this question because I have samson PA amp which I currently don't use and I'm thinking of using it for bass amplification (together with trace-elliot premap).

Thanks in advance for your answers,

Tomaz

2. AlembicPlayer

AlembicPlayer Im not wearing shorts

Aug 15, 2004
    Pacific Northwet, USA
    the short answer is...yes, you can use that amp for a bass system.
    I have used QSC, Mackie, Yamaha, Crown and various other stereo power amps for both PA and bass systems. A good clean reliable power amp matched with efficient speakers properly matched with the impedance load of the amp is what you're after.

3. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Like AlembicPlayer said, you are good to go. The only problem you might have hooking it up properly (you may need to make a cable or adapter).

Uh...check the output. Is it in watts or volts? If it is in volts we may need to cigitate on this for a while.

What is the model of the amp?

:)

Joe.

4. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    All amps have voltage output. You're probably thinking of constant voltage distribution systems, which are used in zone coverage systems but not PA.