Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Differences in tone of ebony

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gruuv, Aug 19, 2005.

1. gruuv

gruuv

Jan 23, 2004
    Tennessee
    For those in the know. . . I'm curious as to whether Macassar ebony has different tonal properties than Gabon ebony? I'm speaking generally here, I realize that different pieces of the same wood will not sound exactly alike - so here is my "all other things being equal" caveat. It seems that the Gabon ebony boards I've heard have sounded a bit brighter and more "compressed," sometimes even brittle to the Macassar which has seemed somewhat warmer and more open, but I've had limited experience with them both.

Any thoughts? Oh, and if this should be in a different forum please feel free to move it friendly moderators.

Thanks in advance. . .

2. gruuv

gruuv

Jan 23, 2004
    Tennessee
    I know somebody here has to have a thought or two on this. . . anyone?
    :bag:

3. spc

spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston
    Bump for a cool topic (I think)

4. gruuv

gruuv

Jan 23, 2004
    Tennessee
    Aw man, you got my hopes up there... thought I was going to glean some wisdom from you! :crying:

Thanks for the bump though. . . :cool:

5. spc

spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston
    Sorry Gruuv... :)
    Not looking to hijack the thread either, but I'm wondering about Macassar ebony...

6. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine
    It's my understanding that they sound the same, but I'm no expert, and I was hoping that someone more knowledgable would chime in first. Pete Skjold would know for sure. You could PM him or drop him an e-mail.

Tom.

7. Bump

I'm kinda curious too...

8. There might be some info for you on the Warmoth site. Check the neck woods section.