Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Differences?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by chimp, Jan 14, 2005.

1. chimp

chimp

Dec 4, 2004
    South Africa
    i have been playing double bass for more or less 6 months so am still pretty new to this side of the low end, but i was wondering are there differences in a jazz double bass and a classical double bass? im pretty sure there isnt and this is a stupid question but its kinda been bugging me.

perhaps the basses are just set up differently?

2. Well, CHEETAH, I guess you just pretty well answered your own question.
    A bass is a bass is a bass ( excluding BSO´s ) no matter what kind of music you play with it. Different players use different setups for different styles of music. So it´s a setup thang.

The guys who started making double basses did not know about jazz...they just made an instrument for music that was popular in their era. A string family instrument which was primarily meant for arco.
    I wonder if it would look different if it was invented last week for playing pizzicato in a jazz band.... :smug:

R2

3. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN

Isn't that what the flat fingerboard EUB's are for :D
    (no arco needed)

4. cabin dweller

cabin dweller Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2004
    Ridgeland, WI
    You haven't played nothin' ontill you've played the spitter bass fiddle! It's our house bass at are cabin called the "Rotten spitter" Some day I'll post some pictures of it. Everybody will get a good laugh from it.

cabin dweller

5. Well, I might just be so. Because there already were chairs around, eventually someone had to come up with an electric chair. And because there already were Basses around, somebody showed up with an electric bass. It´s the curse of our modern times...

R2

6. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA