Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Diffirences between fretted and fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Albini_Fan, Apr 7, 2003.

1. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    Gasp! Yes, I am a newbie :p But latley, I have been fascinated with fretlesses. I have no idea why they are diffirent at all, but I think they look nice!

2. On your fretted bass, the "frets" are all of the metal pieces that you press the string against to make notes. The fretless has no frets. You make the different notes by pressing the string against the fretboard in different spots. Normally, the fretless sounds different, and is often used to get a somewhat double bass or upright bass tone.

jtbp

3. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    Yeah, I know what frets are and do :p But thanks, anyways! Can somone just take the frets off a fretless, and achieve the fretless sound?

4. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    There are literally hundreds of threads dealign with this. Do a search and piles of information will come your way! :)

5. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Yes you can. any fretted bass can be made frettless. Just pop those suckers out,,,,well....take more care than that....do a search,,,please.....

6. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    Can I delete this, or somone? I feel bad spammin' up the place ;P

7. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    No problem - there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers :D