Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Digital camera help

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by mattsk42, Mar 9, 2006.

1. mattsk42

mattsk42 $100 off new Directv subsp.PM me BEFORE signing up Supporting Member

I'm looking to spend around 600 for a digital camera. I'll eventually do semi-professional work and I take a lot of pictures. I'm a visual arts student. These are the best camera I have found for the price and with great reviews. Which one would you pick? Thanks!

I'm just going to get the basic lens that comes w/ the camera/kit. Is the anti-shake really working and worth it to push the KM over the top?

Here's my 3 choices as of now.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0507/05071503kmmaxxum5d.asp
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos350d/
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond50/

2. If you're looking to do semi-professional work, I'd recommend you go with the Canon Rebel over the other. Digital SLR work like regular SLR cameras except for being digital. This gives you a lot more flexibility for the kind of artsy stuff you're probably looking to do. While the non-SLR will give you sharper pictures due to the higher resolution, the digital SLR will give you more options for taking the shot.

3. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    You want a low-end DSLR. DSLR is one full level up, there is no reason why you would want to limit yourself with a "semi-SLR" - there's a huge difference in both useability AND picture quality. I would take a 5Mpix DSLR over 12Mpix latest "SLR-style" any day, since if you have a photo sensor 1/8th of an inch in diameter it doesn't matter how many Mpixels there are crammed on that tiny chip, the quality will still be far from optimal.