Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Digital SLR Camera

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by danqi, Dec 25, 2004.

1. danqi

danqi

May 21, 2001
    Germany
    I plan on getting a digital SLR camera. It's gotta be SLR because I want to feel like a professional (and learn). It's gotta be unexpensive because I am no professional (under 1k). Unfortunately, I don't really know what's out there. Any suggestions?

2. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    You want to FEEL like a professional? There are some very good digital non SLR's that have every feature teh SLR's do, minus teh swappable lenses. honestly, unless you plan on getting multiple lenses or hooking the camera up to telescopes or something, you probably don't need an SLR. However, if that is really what you want, there are a few good options.
    Canon Digital Rebel- between $950 and $1200, depending on lense and package
    Nikon D70- $1,000 to 1,200 dependingon lens and package
    Pentax ist DS- $1,000 with zoom lens

Other than those, there aren't many SLR's for under $1,500. You can go up to $30,000 if you want to, haha. If you don't get an SLR, than Fuji's S5100 and Nikon's Coolpix 8700 are worth a look as well. They are very good cameras packed with features.

3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    New in your price range, I enthusiasticaly suggest the Nikon D70. IMO, it blows the Canon Digital Rebel out of the water. (The DigiReb is a decent camera - it's just a little too dumbed down for a serious amateur IMO.)

If you're willing to consider used, a clean Nikon D1h, a minty Canon 10D, or a minty Nikon D100 would do the trick.

What are you planning on shooting?

4. Ívar Þórólfsson

Ívar Þórólfsson Mmmmmm... Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2001
    Kopavogur, Iceland