1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Dilema Plywood vs. Carved at the $1500-$2500 price point

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by armybass, Nov 11, 2010.

1. armybass

armybass Gold Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2001
    OK, here is what I am trying to figure without getting too deep in the weeds. In Jan I plan on getting a bass and my price range is $2K to $3K. I know I can get a great plywood bass for $2000 and I can get a pretty decent carved bass for $3000. I have had both of the basses that I am looking at before. I am looking at a Weiss Carved bass from Europe in the $2500-$3000 range. I had the same bass a few years ago and it was a great bass but I have also had great plywood basses too. I am just kinda torn between the two at this point. I got my degree in bass years ago and have some orchestral experience but mainly have been a jazzer when it comes to most of my gigging experience. But I am thinking about maybe joining a community orchestra. I am just not sure which way to go. I know I will be pleased either way but am looking for any opinions that you all might like to through out.

2. Roger Davis

Roger Davis

May 24, 2006
    England
    At that price you may find it difficult to get a good carved bass but more likely to get a ply bass that you will like. With the dollar/euro exchange rate together with the cost of transatlantic shipping I'd be dubious about a European import in that price range. Get on to Upton's site. You may just be able to find a hybrid at your price - a carved top and laminate back and sides.

3. Bass Barrister

Bass Barrister

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago
    If you are going to be doing any serious orchestra playing, you should lean towards a fully carved instrument. Yes, one can play a ply in a community orchestra and sound halfway decent, but, IMHO, you won't be happy with your sound as you advance.