1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Dilemma: 5-String, Eb Tuning, 34'/35' Scale

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Munroe, Dec 9, 2017.

1. 34'

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 35'

5 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Munroe

Munroe

Apr 25, 2012
    I'm planning to buy a new 5-string next year - a Sandberg California VM. I'm very excited about it, but I need some help deciding between 34' and 35' scale.

A little background:

I've been playing just 4-string for many years now (34' of course), and I often tune a half-step down in Eb tuning. I use this tuning not because I really need the low Eb, but because I like the tone of a slightly de-tuned bass. I feel like it gives me a really fat sound across the entire instrument, particularly when I do it on my Stingray.

Here is my dilemma:

If I get a 34' inch scale 5-string, I know that my EADG strings will still sound good in Eb tuning, but I'm worried that my low Bb string will sound too floppy. I don't have a 5-string, so haven't actually tested this yet; its just my speculation.

On the other hand, if I get 35' scale and tune down, the low Bb note will probably sound a little better, but I'm worried I might lose some of the Eb fatness in the other strings. It might end up just sounding like a normal bass. Also, some people complain about not liking the increased tension on a 35' scale bass.

I know that 35' scale is not a requirement to get a good B-string sound, as I've heard many good sounding 5-strings that weren't 35', but is it a requirement if you want to tune down to Bb?

What do you think?

Last edited: Dec 9, 2017
  2. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    If you're worried about string tension I'd suggest getting custom string gauges to avoid it.

I generally prefer longer scale basses so I'd go with the 35" scale no matter what.

richntiff likes this.
  3. chris_b

chris_b

Jun 2, 2007