1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Dingwall Combustion 5 neck thickness/feel

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassmeknik, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Any one played Dingwall Combustion and any other Dingwall model (prefer Z, Lee Sklar, or Prima Artist models as they have the thinest necks). I just got a new Combustion and LOVE the sound but really don't like the feel of the neck. Are the necks on the Z and higher models noticeably thinner? I'm trying to decide/rationalize on spending twice as much (or more) for a Z and returning my Combustion. I have been playing a Gibson V for 25 years (bought new in '86) and like the slender neck so I am hoping there are bassists out there who have experience with Dingwalls Z, Lee Sklar, or Prima Artist models. (These have the thinnest necks of the Dingwall line.) The Combustion sounds and plays great, no complaints whatsoever but my preference is for a thin style neck (MIA Fender 5's are thicker than my Gibson V). Can any Dingwall 5 string owners or people with experience playing them critique the necks for me? I would like to hear some comments from bassists experienced with Dingwalls. Any models but the mentioned models have the thinnest neck for a Dingwall 5.

2. singlemalt

singlemalt Supporting Member

Dec 15, 2007
    White Salmon, WA
    Here is a link to the Dingwall specs:Dingwall Bass Specifications | Side by Side Comparison | Dingwall Guitars

Looks to me like the combustion has the same thickness as the Afterburners and Super J's and ABZ's. They differ in the shape, the combustion being the only neck profile called a D shape. The others are all C shapes, and the premium models are 2mm thinner.