Dippy idea, Patentable, or Already exists?

Discussion in 'Accessories [BG]' started by ImTheOnlyOne, Aug 31, 2022.

Dippy idea, Patentable, or Already exists?

Poll closed Sep 28, 2022.
  1. Dippy idea

33.3%
  2. Patentable

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Already exists?

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Use a carrot

66.7%
  1. ImTheOnlyOne

ImTheOnlyOne Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2011
    Many instrument amplifiers mute output when a 1/4" is inserted into their effects return. I imagine a finger sized product that essentially combines a 1/4" male cable end with a toggle switch for mute/unmute, built to reside in an otherwise unused effects return. Is there already such a simple device?

2. darkwasthenight

darkwasthenight

Oct 17, 2010
    The mute is a mechanical function of the jack physically lifting contacts to break connection when pushed into place. I'm not an expert on every single amp out there but don't see it as something you could really switch externally.

Edit: you COULD however, have a send and return box with a switch placed between the two cables for the same effect. The lack of standardised distances between FX loop jacks means it wouldn't be one size fits all though.

ImTheOnlyOne likes this.
  3. creaturegods

creaturegods

Sep 23, 2017
    ^^ Pretty sure this is right.

There are 1/4" to 1/8" adapters that are basically just male 1/4" connectors with female 1/8" ports that could perform this function without any extra cable bits to worry about, but it being "switchable" would be tricky, if possible at all.

Heck, a properly-trimmed carrot might actually be applicable here. :D

Ricky Rioli and ImTheOnlyOne like this.
  4. ImTheOnlyOne

Apr 7, 2011
    You landed precisely on my current solution (headphone adapter, not crunchy snack)

5. elgranluis

elgranluis

Feb 14, 2003
    Vail, CO
    yes , some of my amplifiers have a mute button.