1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Direct Box or Direct Out from an Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mxr255, Sep 1, 2003.

1. mxr255

mxr255

Jul 21, 2003
    Williamsport, PA
    I am not sure what to do here. I am new at playing larger venues and I have a question. Should I use the direct out from my SWR 2004 amp or should I invest in a direct box. What are some advantages and disadvantages. If I do get a direct box what kind? Thanks guys. This forum is always helpful.

2. Davehenning

Davehenning

Aug 9, 2001
    Los Angeles
    you should get a DI box. It comes in handy if you run into any trouble with your amp.
    (if your amp goes down, you will still have the DI signal to the house)

3. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

I agree. Get a separate DI. Some amps produce noise and hiss and drives the soundman nuts!

4. mikemulcahy

mikemulcahy

Jun 13, 2000
    The Abyss
    DI without question, that way you get clean signal to the PA.

Mike

5. I usually end up using a di. Several soundguys have told me my di on my amp is noisy. Although I did find a really awsome soundguy who used my amp's di and it sounded amazing. Having a di box isn't a bad thing at all.

6. maxvalentino

maxvalentino Endorsing Artist Godin Guitars/ Thomastik-Infeld

Most amps offer a balanced out or DI as an extra, as such they are not made made of the high quality components which GOOD stand alone DIs are.

This coupled with the dfactor that most are not isolated from the internal noise of your amp, are the main concers for a soundman when he/she chooses tou put you on an external DI.

Add to that, the fact that if your amp fails (and they all do sooner or later, and at the most inopportune of times), a stand alone DI can, and will save your butt.