Directional cables?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassboat, Oct 13, 2002.

1. bassboat

Sep 27, 2001
    Directional cables. Is this for real? Do you guys hear a difference?
  2. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    From what I understand, they're directional so the signal doesn't have to travel all the way through the cable to reach ground. I have no personal experience with them, but that sounds pretty legit to me. Directly quoted from the Planet Waves website:

"Why is the shield connected on the amplifier end, and not the guitar end? This configuration provides the best shielding against external noise. The shield intercepts external noise and diverts it to the amplifier ground, reducing interference. Connecting the shield to the amplifier end provides the shortest and most direct path to the amplifier ground and maximizes the shielding effectiveness. If the shield is connected at the guitar end, the intercepted noise is forced to travel through the cable before reaching the amplifier ground; this causes extra noise pickup by the cable and reduces shielding effectiveness. If the shield is connected at both ends, some of the noise can still travel through the cable before reaching the amplifier ground, thereby reducing shielding effectiveness."

Bassboat, There have been a buttload of threads started on the pros and cons of different cables, including the Planet Waves cables that I immediately think of when someone mentions directional cables. Search and ye shall find. ;)
  3. Attaching a shield to one end only is perectly legit to try to stop ground-loop induced hums. It may or may not help depending on the situation.