1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Dirt pedals for bass - help me explore them?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by gdro, Dec 17, 2020.

1. gdro

gdro Commercial User

Dec 12, 2020
    Healdsburg, California
    Owner of Karma Guitar Amps, LLC
    Hi everyone! This is the first forum I’ve ever joined and the first I’ve ever posted. And I’m not a bass player. So please forgive my noob-ness!

My main gig for the past 30+ years has been as a producer/engineer/mixer in LA and Nashville. I’m now located in Northern California and mostly mix now, but also own/manage a boutique amp and pedal company.

While I’m not technically a bass player I do own three basses and love the instrument. As a guitar player, I strive to restrain myself enough to (barely) get by on bass.

I love a touch of dirt on bass, so I’ve acquired a collection of pedals intended for bass to try and compare them. What I’ve found is that every one of them has merit in its own way; I would never say one is better than another. What I’ve done so far is run a compilation track, culled from my own recordings over the years of much better players than myself, through each pedal. I’ve adjusted each pedal not to sound alike or even similar, but just to where I enjoyed the sound. My own bias is towards “edge of breakup” overdrive and some of these pedals excel at or are intended for more drastic distortion, so I would never claim it’s a balanced comparison.

Without getting any more long-winded than I already have - is there any interest to explore this (and sorry if it’s been covered extensively here before)? I’d be curious to hear comments/advice on how to best present this on the forum. I have recorded audio of the same track played through each pedal and photos of each pedal’s settings.

Thanks!
    gdro
    BassEfx.jpeg

nuage420b, HCF, Zbysek and 11 others like this.
  2. mmbongo