Disappointed In My Drummer

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RobBottom69, Sep 12, 2017.

Tags:
  1. RobBottom69

RobBottom69

Aug 2, 2012
    SF Bay Area
    Here's one for the group...

About 3 months ago the BL for my first band, which I left a couple years ago, asked if I would be interested in a reunion show at a church festival they always play. The BL and guitarist had attended by father's funeral in February which was very nice of them, so I thought it would be good to do the gig. Not long after that their usual drummer was unable to make the gig, so I offered a guy I've been playing with for the last 3 years or so. The material was basic so I didn't think he would have a problem, he had the setlist, I figure no big deal.

Then 3 weeks ago he missed the first of 2 rehearsals. He said he would make it but got hung up somewhere, gave him the setlist again, then on Sunday we're rehearsing and it's clear he never practiced or listened to any of the songs. The singer was also the drummer, so he gave him a couple of demonstrations on the songs we were playing. Then after I get home from rehearsal he sent me an email saying that the drummer seemed to know the material so he should probably do the gig, and that he should have started playing through the tunes earlier. Story short, our front is now going to have to play the drums, on an electric kit because the BL sold his kit last year.