Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Disappointed with my new GK Backline 2X10 Cab. Any suggestions for a replacement?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by chout, Dec 25, 2005.

1. chout

chout

Dec 21, 2005
    Minneapolis, MN
    Hey all,
    I just bought a GK 400RB-III head that I dig so far (quite a difference from my Bassman 60 combo!). Along with it, I purchased a new GK Backline 2X10 cab, since I heard they were decent for the price, and very portable, since I have a small car. I was planning on buying a 1X15 Backline cab too, but...

Though I'm no gear expert, I gotta say I'm quite disappointed in this cab. It lacks low end and is very mid heavy. I guess I should expect that from a 2X10, but it just doesn't sound right to me. On top of that I'm surprised at how farty the cab is when I turn the amp up. The cab is 200 watts @ 8ohms and the 400RB-III is 150 watts at 8ohms, so it seems odd that it distorts when I turn the amp up just past half way.

I'm probably gonna return this cab, and get something different.
    I was hoping to get some suggestions for good 2X10 cabs under $300 dollars.
    Please no "i heard such and such cabs were good", I want to hear from people who speak of experience.

Thank you.

2. Juniorkimbrough

Juniorkimbrough

Mar 22, 2005
    Mississippi / Memphis, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    how do you have the EQ set? turn the bass down if the cab is farting out....plus remember that the "backline's" are the bottom of the barrell GK's.

3. chout

chout

Dec 21, 2005
    Minneapolis, MN
    I've never cranked the bass on the eq very far. Usually they are all up to 12 O' Clock. It's definitely worst on my active Stingray and Jazz Bass than my passive P Bass, even when I push the -10 cut to compensate for the active basses.

I think I truly learned "you get what you pay for" with this cabinet.

4. tim99