1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Discomfort while sitting

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by piggywiddle, Sep 7, 2020.

1. piggywiddle

piggywiddle Supporting Member

Oct 22, 2017
    I have been playing for 20 years and have always found it incredibly uncomfortable to play seated with a bow, unless I am using a half or 5/8 sized bass. I play mainly French now.

I find that the G string is too far away from my bow hand and my hips and lower back just don’t feel good. I’ve experimented over the years with different stool heights as well as the angle of the bass but haven’t been successful - I’ve just settled on standing to increase flexibility.

someone recently told me that started using yoga blocks to prop up their left foot when playing - does anyone else use these?

curious if anyone else has also found it uncomfortable to play seated. I am 5’6” with short arms.

2. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    I thought that propping up the left leg was de rigeur for sitting. Is this not so?

3. piggywiddle

Oct 22, 2017
    depends on your height. I’ve seen many great bassists play with two feet flat on the ground but often they were quite tall and with long arms. I also find it comfy to sit with both feet flat on the ground but then the stool would basically be as low as a regular height chair and still hard to reach the G string.

4. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    Hmm. I'm six feet tall and play German, so take that into account, but the way I understood sitting on a stool is that basically you're putting your left "cheek" on the seat, right foot on the floor, and left leg propped up. I've thought about learning to play sitting but there's plenty of other stuff I have to work on, so...

piggywiddle likes this.
  5. Jim Dedrick

Jim Dedrick Jim Dedrick Supporting Member