1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Discouragement

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AceBasser, Dec 23, 2011.

1. AceBasser

AceBasser

Sep 29, 2011
    I've been playing for about 6 months and love it so much. Everytime I walk past my bass I pick it up and play for an hour or so. (do that many many times a day). I play a lot of covers, and learn them by ear and watching videos. No tabs, but when I try to come up with something of my own my brain just farts and it's pretty frustrating. I can play me scales up to 220bpm and can my scales all over the fretboard but just can't seem to make anything of my own. Any suggestions? :I

2. Dazzare

Dazzare

Dec 3, 2011
    What I would do is learn some MUSIC THEORY. Lets not use the word practice(Such a dirty word). No matter what you are doing you are creating music. When I have trouble making music I go out and change my surroundings. Go have a walk about town. Go to a new restaurant. Basically have a new life experience. I wrote one of my best bass lines when I was shaken up from a near miss from a car accident. It was a new life experience....even if it was a near death one =P.

3. K2000

K2000

Nov 16, 2005
    Brooklyn
    6 months is not very long! It sounds like you are already making good progress. Think of playing music as a life-long activity, and something where you will always be learning new stuff.

That being said, "riffs" that you come up with are just assembled from little bits and pieces of knowledge you've already internalized to the point that you can spin them off without even thinking. You probably just need more time to digest all this new musical information, and make it a part of you. As you get more experienced, that process of internalizing new musical ideas gets accelerated.