1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Distortion pedals not loud enough or squealing with feedback when not playing

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Krawn, Oct 28, 2013.

1. Krawn

Krawn

May 17, 2013
    Hey guys,

So since I've fallen into playing bass, I grabbed my old DS-1 to get started. My band is a trio and I need louder than life, crunchy and intense distortion. Please keep in mind I am pretty new to this, so I am probably just skipping over something or doing something wrong.
    Since I've been playing I've also used an MXR distortion+ that I am basically having the same issue with.

There are two problems:
    1. Sometimes I can't get the distortion loud enough. It will almost be lower than my clean tone. Which leads me to believe I have some level wrong somewhere. I've read that you need to seek unity gain, which I think I have done.... but maybe not correctly? I have a Sansamp BDDI on all the time, so I make sure when I set up that if it is off, I have the same level of volume as when it is on.
    2. If I do get my distortion in the ballpark of being loud enough, unless I am playing a note, I get this high pitched, loud and annoying feedback. So I have to turn the gain/level down on the pedal, but then it's not loud enough or intense enough.

There are select times where I don't get this problem. It's been hard to pinpoint exactly why not because I use different amps and am in different situations all the time. But for the most part, I consistently have this problem.

My gear is kind of thrown together from what I had around/could grab off of friends just to get started with the band. It's all going to be upgraded shortly, but surely there is a way around this issue for now?

I'm using:
    Yamaha RBX>
    Tuner>
    DS-1/MXR distortion+>
    Sansamp BDDI>
    Amp (Various)