Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Diverting some anxiety via TB.....

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by DirtDog, Mar 30, 2004.

1. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    ...I got asked on short notice to fill in on bass for a gig with a buddy's rock cover band this coming weekend.

I've spent the last few years playing with two versions of the same band and have reheased the tunes we play dozens if not hundreds of times before hitting the stage.

This time, I've played along to a compiled CD for about 6 hours total and we hit the stage this Friday with no full band practice beforehand. I know the drummer socially but have never even jammed with him, let alone play with the entire band. Also, I've been playing blues pretty much exclusively for a few years and the rock stuff is "new" to me on bass.

I know that this may seem trivial, but I can help feeling more anxious than usual despite being prepared and confident. :meh:

As usual, it'll probably be a great learning experience with little or no downside as we'll be playing to a drunk audience in a redneck bar.

DD

2. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    Which one, which one? ;)

How many sets is this? If it's just one or two, ok... but learning a full night's worth of songs in a week with no rehearsals is tricky work. Bring cheat sheets listing the key and chord progressions of each song just in case. If all else fails, cheat and look at the guitarist's hands :D

I'm sure it'll be lots of fun! I assume the elbow is doing better?

Cheers!

3. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North