1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Diving headfirst into the Pedal world.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JohnathanBox, Dec 26, 2016.

1. JohnathanBox

JohnathanBox

Oct 19, 2016
    Okay, so here it is, I am THAT guy. Christmas has come and gone and I have money burning in my pocket.

Ive decided that I want a compressor and then an affect, probably distortion of some kind.

So far I have in my cart on eBay, A DOD Milk Box for $55 and a Little Bear Rat Attack 2 for around $35-$40.

I have checked the shrine of Onvilab and the Milk Box seems to be the big top pick for cheap.

I kinda just want to get some opinions. Also, the Rat is coming from China (of course) and I am no electrician but 9v is 9v right? Getting a pedal from there will work just fine here in the states and in the UK ?

2. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

9v is 9v, but Rat-based distortions tend to lose a little of the low end.

3. JohnathanBox

JohnathanBox

Oct 19, 2016
    Which is why I was gravitating toward the Little bear, I've heard it holds quite a bit of low end for it's price.
    But say I wanted to keep some low end with a distortion. Should I look at something like the DOD meatbox to add some sub and low end? Or should I go for something that cuts the single so I can keep some dry and some wet?

4. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

Well, I should say I have no experience with the Little Bear, and it may very well keep low end, but if it's a straight clone of the ProCo it probably won't.

The Meatbox is probably overkill. That's for room-filling, subsonic throb, like what you hear at a club that's playing EDM or hip-hop. It's great if that's what you're going for, but as a solution to a pedal that cuts lows, it's the wrong tool for the job.